{Salzburg//Sound of Music and a Beer Garden}

OK, I have a confession… I am a huge Sound of Music fan. Songs- I know them. Names of the Von Trapp Family children- Know them too. Something that I didn’t know until planning our Europe trip- A lot of filming for the movie was done in Salzburg. And when I found out, I knew we had to go!
We visited places like the Mirabell Gardens where they filmed Do-Re-Mi (The gardens are actually stunning, full of richly colored flowers and perfectly manicured, forming intricate designs throughout the whole space). I reenacted the scenes where Maria and the children climb the stairs while singing, dance along the fountain and bike through the tunnel covered in greenery. We also went to St. Peter’s Cemetery and Residenz Square where other scenes were filmed. It was such fun actually being where one of my favorite movies was made!
After hours of me nerding out on Sound of Music, Adam and I decided to go to a Beer Garden called Augustiner Bräu. It was 3:30pm on a Wednesday afternoon and the area was packed with Austrians enjoying an afternoon break. The whole concept was such fun and totally novel to me- you pay for the size of beer you want, pick your mug off the wall, wash it and hand it to the bartender who fills up the beer and practically throws it back at you. There were also vendors selling a variety of traditional Austrian meals. We drank our beer (well, Adam did- I had about three sips) and just relaxed in the tree-covered garden.







Leave a Reply

